A Youth Awards Ceremony and District Meeting were held at the Post this past Saturday on April 14. Around 40 people attended the meaningful ceremony and luncheon.

Pam Valdez, Youth Scholarship Chairman of District #6 and Post Auxiliary #2411, conducted the awards ceremony and expressed appreciation to the teachers and judges that make this contest possible. Judges thanked were Diane Baublits, Carol Lockhart, Baby Kuhns, and Nate Valdez. Teachers thanked were Michelle Conger of Las Animas, Becky Roesch of McClave, Bonnie Grossen of Swink, and Jean Wagner of Las Animas. 

Voice of Democracy winners for Post #2411 were: 1st place $100 – Rico Carale, 2nd place $50  – Olivia Lewis, 3rd place $25 - Cole Stranger, and honorable mention – Levi Collins – all from Swink. District #6 Voice of Democracy winners were: 1st place $100 – Rico Carale and 2nd place $50 Madeline Moreland.

Patriot’s Pen Winners Post #2411 were 1st place $100 Sidney Larrew from McClave, 2nd place $50 James B. Zook from Las Animas, and 3rd place $25 Maggie Chase from McClave. District #6 Patriot’s Pen Winners were 1st place $100 Sidney Larrew from #2411 and 2nd place $50 Roxanne Martinez from #336 Ordway. Creative Patriotic Art Post #2411 was Richard Gallegos, Honorable Mention $25. 

A joint District #6 meeting was held following the awards ceremony, as well as Post and Auxiliary separate meetings, with election and installation of officers.  Billy Bob Deatherage, District #6 Commander and Pam Valdez, District #6 President conducted the meetings. Other special guests recognized were Dept. Sr. Vice Commander Steve Kjonaas, Dept. Jr. Vice commander David Stone, Post #2411 Commander Jim O’Neill, Dept. Auxiliary Chaplain Kathy Carlson, Ordway Auxiliary President Patsy Osburn, and Las Animas Auxiliary President Kathleen Tomlin. 

A big thanks to Post #2411 VFW Auxiliary members for preparing the meal and the Post for setting up the tables.