ROCKY FORD — To say that the bulls had the advantage at the Arkansas Valley Fair Rodeo is an understatement.

A total 13 riders attempted to stay on their bulls for the allotted eight seconds, and 12 were unsuccessful.

Chris Bushaw of Fruita was the only cowboy to get a qualified ride, as he scored 62 points in the Friday evening performance.

He was one of six riders on Friday. Saturday afternoon saw eight riders try to stay on their bulls, and all failed.

It was a different story with the bucking horses. In bareback riding, one of two riders were successful as David Streweler of Brighton had a 74-point ride on Friday. He was the only rider in that performance. There was only one in the Saturday afternoon session and he was thrown off of his horse.

In saddle bronc riding, Denton Ward of Laramie, Wyoming, was the only rider on Friday and he completed a 73-point ride. That mark stood until Saturday as two riders made their attempts. Tyler Beebe of the Otero Junior College rodeo team surpassed Ward with a 76-point ride to take the win.

In the men's timed events, Tait Kvistad of Ault took the lead in steer wrestling in five seconds on Friday. However, Trevor Haake of Grand Island, Nebraska, had a 4.4-second run in the Saturday slack and he held off Cody Pratt of Pueblo, who had a 4.5-second run in the Saturday afternoon performance.

Devon Burris of Queen Creek, Arizona, took the lead in tie-down roping with a 9.4-second run on Friday evening. That time stood for the rest of the rodeo.

The open team roping saw Korbin Rice and Kirt Jones, both of Hobbs, New Mexico, take the lead on Friday evening in 10.5 seconds. Nick Becker of Garden City, Kansas, and Toby Mentzer of Ensign, Kansas, took over the lead in five seconds in the Saturday slack. That time ended up being the winning mark.

The women's events saw Taya McAdow of Fort Lupton take the lead in breakaway roping in 2.3 seconds on Friday night. That time stood until Saturday afternoon when Shai Schaefer of Torrington, Wyoming, surpassed it in 1.8 seconds.

The ladies barrel racing saw Brenda McMahan take the lead on Friday in 17.84 seconds. Carol Ruggieri of Pueblo took the win with a time of 17.63 seconds on Saturday afternoon.

In mixed team roping, Nobody turned in a qualified time on Friday evening, but Teisha Coffield of Yuma and Josh Fillmore of Penrose took the lead with a 5.8-second run in the Saturday slack. Lydia Coe and Clayton Van Aken, both of Laramie, Wyoming, took the win in the Saturday afternoon session in 5.3 seconds.